Sir Harrison Birtwistle (1934-2022)

Four Poems by Jaan Kaplinski (1991)

for soprano and thirteen instruments

  • General information
    • Composition date: 1991
    • Duration: 9 mn
    • Publisher: Universal Edition
    • Commission: Aldeburgh Festival
    • Libretto (details, author):

      Jaan Kaplinski, traduit en anglais par Sam Hamill

Detailed formation
  • soloist: solo soprano
  • flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn, trumpet, harp, piano, violin, second violin, viola, cello, double bass

Premiere information

  • Date: 19 June 1991

    Royaume-Uni, Aldeburgh


    le London Sinfonietta.

Table of contents

  • Ashes of One World...
  • Ant Trail...
  • Heart of Rain...
  • The Way turns...