Isabel Mundry (1963)

D’où venons nous – Que sommes nous – Où allons nous (1990)

for clarinet, violin, cello and piano

  • General information
    • Composition date: 1990
    • Duration: 13 mn
    • Publisher: Breitkopf & Härtel
Detailed formation
  • 1 clarinet, 1 violin, 1 cello, 1 piano

Premiere information

  • Date: 23 February 1991

    dans le cadre de la Biennale de Berlin

Program note

The work is oriented on the formative design of the eponymous painting by Paul Gauguin. Framed by sound, the four instruments proceed on similar paths. Every motion has its mirror image, every step forward its return movement, even though there are never any actual repetitions.

Isabel Mundry