Thomas Adès (1971)

In Seven Days (2008)

for piano, orchestra and video by Tal Rosner

electronic work
stage work

  • General information
    • Composition date: 2008
    • Video, installation (detail, author): vidéo de Tal Rosner
    • Duration: 30 mn
    • Publisher: Faber Music, Londres
    • Commission: South Bank Centre pour le London Sinfonietta
Detailed formation
  • soloist: piano
  • 3 flutes (also 2 piccolos, 1 alto flute), 3 oboes, 3 clarinets, 3 bassoons (also 1 contrabassoon), 4 horns, 3 trumpets, 2 trombones, bass trombone, tuba, 4 percussionists, timpani, 8 violins, 8 second violins, 6 violas, 6 cellos, 4 double basses [cordes minimum]

Premiere information

  • Date: 28 April 2008

    Londres, Royal Festival Hall


    Nicolas Hodges : piano et le London Sinfonietta direction : Thomas Adès

Information on the electronics
Electronic device: dispositif multimédia (vidéo, lumière)

Program note

This piece is a video-ballet in seven movements, played continuously. The piece follows the story of creation:

  1. Chaos – Light – Darkness
  2. Separation of the waters into the sea and sky
  3. Land – Grass – Trees
  4. Stars, Sun, Moon – Fugue
  5. Creatures of the Sea and Sky
  6. Creatures of the Land
  7. Contemplation

The story is set as a set of variations, reflecting the tw0-part structure of the story: Days 1, 2 and 3 are complemented by Days 4, 5 and 6.
In Day 7 the theme is presented in its simplest form. The visuals also tell the story in an abstract way, using footage and photographs from the two places equally responsible for the work’s commission: Southbank Centre’s Royal Festival Hall, and the Walt Disney Concert Hall in Los Angeles, and their immediate surroundings.

Thomas Adès et Tal Rosner.