Thomas Adès (1971)

Tevot (2007)

for large orchestra

  • General information
    • Composition date: 2007
    • Duration: 22 mn
    • Publisher: Faber Music, Londres
    • Commission: Fondation du Berlin Philharmoniker et Carnegie Hall Corporation.
Detailed formation
  • 5 flutes (also 2 piccolos, 1 bass flute), 5 oboes (also 1 English horn, 1 heckelphone), 5 clarinets (also 2 Eb clarinets, 1 A clarinet, 1 basset horn [ad lib.] , 1 contrabass clarinet), 4 bassoons, contrabassoon, 8 horns, 5 trumpets (also 1 piccolo trumpet [ad lib.] ), 3 trombones, 2 tubas, 6 percussionists, harp, piano (also celesta), strings

Premiere information

  • Date: 21 February 2007

    Allemagne, Berlin, Philharmonie


    l'Orchestre philharmonique de Berlin, direction : Sir Simon Rattle.

Program note

The title of this one-movement symphony, Tevot (tey-VOT), means in Hebrew bars of music. Also, in the Bible, (tey-VA) is the ark of Noah, and the cradle in which the baby Moses is carried on the river. It was commissioned by the Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker and The Carnegie Hall Corporation. The world premiere is at the Berliner Philharmonie by the Berliner Philharmoniker and Sir Simon Rattle on February 21, 2007. The United States premiere is at Carnegie Hall, New York City by the Berliner Philharmoniker and Sir Simon Rattle on November 14, 2007.

Thomas Adès.