Elliott Carter (1908-2012)

Rhapsodic Musings (2001)

for solo violin

  • General information
    • Composition date: 2001
    • Duration: 5 mn
    • Publisher: Breitkopf & Härtel
    • Cycle: 4 Lauds
  • Type
    • Solo (excluding voice) [Violin]
Detailed formation
  • violin

Premiere information

  • Date: 21 March 2001

    États-Unis, New York, Merkin Hall


    Robert Mann.


voir aussi 4 Lauds

Program note

Rhapsodic Musings is a present to Robert Mann on his 80th birthday. It is a small tribute to his extraordinary, devoted advocacy of contemporary music. As is well-known, with the other members of the Juilliard Quartet he gave such pioneering and commanding performances of quartets by Bartók, Schoenberg, and many others, including my own, that many of these works became part of the performers’ repertory. His teaching and other activities brought these scores to the attention of students.Using his initials R. M. in the title of this short violin solo and in its main motive – re, mi (D, E) – this piece tries to suggest some of his remarkable human and artistic qualities. It was composed in June, 2000, in Southbury, Connecticut.

Elliott Carter.