Elliott Carter (1908-2012)

Quintet for piano and string quartet (1997)

  • General information
    • Composition date: 1997
    • Duration: 16 mn
    • Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Detailed formation
  • piano, violin, second violin, viola, cello

Premiere information

  • Date: 18 November 1998

    États-Unis, Washington D.C., Library of Congress


    Ursula Oppens : piano et le Quartuor Arditti.

Program note

Quintet for Piano and String Quartet was composed during the summer of 1997 for the pianist, Ursula Oppens and the Arditti Quartet, commissioned for them by the Library of Congress with the intention of giving its premiere at a concert celebrating my 90th birthday at the Library.  

The work is in one movement of many changing characters and contrasts. The moods and materials of the piano are contrasted with those of the string quartet, which, itself, is a combination of four different strands that maintain somewhat independent existences, played by the four strings. 

Elliott Carter.