Yan Maresz (1966)

Link (2005)

for flute, clarinet, violin, cello and sampler

electronic work

  • General information
    • Composition date: 2005
    • Duration: 4 mn
    • Publisher: Durand, Paris, nº D. F. 15719
    • Commission: Stockholm New Music Festival, Festival Archipel, MaerzMusik, Holland Festival, Ircam et Roma Europa Festival
    • Dedication: à la mémoire de Fausto Romitelli
Detailed formation
  • flute, clarinet, violin, cello

Premiere information

  • Date: 26 February 2006

    Suède, Stockholm New Music Festival


    l'ensemble Alter Ego et Pansonic.

Information on the electronics
Electronic device: échantillonneur - sampler

Program note

This piece was conceived for the collective project « Microwaves » in homage of Fausto Romitelli with Pansonic et Alter Ego. Fausto Romitell had the project of writing a piece combining these two ensembles and after his passing away, the productors of the commission asked his closest composer's friends to carry on this project on his memory.

Link is the formal link I realized between two elements taken from the music of Pansonic (one interpolation, one chord and a sampled musical texture). This link is also an essay on deconstruction of this last texture to imagine in a backwards manner it's generative elements on the structural and instrumental level: a polyrhythm consisting of a few voices who progressively transpose themselves up to become this very texture. The piece is also the testimony of the link that united me to Fausto romitelli to whom this piece is dedicated.

Yan Maresz.