Elliott Carter (1908-2012)

Cello Concerto (2000)

  • General information
    • Composition date: 2000
    • Duration: 18 mn
    • Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
    • Commission: Daniel Baremboim et le Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Detailed formation
  • soloist: cello
  • 3 flutes (also 1 piccolo), 2 oboes, English horn, 2 clarinets (also 1 bass clarinet), bass clarinet (also contrabass clarinet), 2 bassoons, contrabassoon, 4 horns, 3 trumpets, 2 trombones, tuba, 3 percussionists, timpani, harp, strings

Premiere information

  • Date: 27 September 2001

    Etats-Unis Chicago, Illinois, Symphony Hall


    Yo-Yo Ma : violoncelle et l'Orchestre symphonique de Chicago, direction : Daniel Barenboim.

Program note

My Cello Concerto is introduced by the soloist alone, playing a frequently interrupted cantilena that presents ideas later to be expanded into movements. These movements are connected by episodes that often refer to the final Allegro fantastico. In this score I have tried to find meaningful, personal ways of revealing the cello’s vast array of wonderful possibilities.

Commissioned by the Chicago Symphony for the amazing Yo-Yo Ma, who has given outstanding performances of my 1948 Cello Sonata, the score was composed in New York City and Southbury, Connecticut during 2000.

Elliott Carter, 2001.