Jonathan Harvey (1939-2012)

Smiling Immortal (1977)

for ensemble of eleven instrumentalists and tape

electronic work

  • General information
    • Composition date: 1977
    • Duration: 17 mn
    • Publisher: Faber Music
    • Commission: London Celebration Committee for the Queen's Silver Jubilee
Detailed formation
  • flute (also piccolo), oboe, clarinet (also Eb clarinet), horn, trumpet, percussionist, piano, violin, second violin, viola, cello

Premiere information

  • Date: 11 July 1977

    Royaume-Uni, Londres, Round Houson


    le Ballet Rambert, Norman Morric : chorégraphie.

Information on the electronics
Electronic device: sons fixés sur support