Sir Michael Tippett (1905-1998)

The Knot Garden (1966 -1970)

opera in three acts
[Le Jardin de noeuds]

stage work

  • General information
    • Composition date: 1966 - 1970
    • Duration: 1 h 20 mn
    • Publisher: Schott
    • Commission: Royal Opera House, Covent Garden
    • Libretto (details, author):

      Sir Michael Tippett.

Premiere information

  • Date: 2 December 1970

    Royaume-Uni, Londres, Royal Opera House


    Jill Gomez, Josephine Barstow, Yvonne Minton, Robert Tear, Thomas Hemsley, Raymund Herincx, Thomas Carey (solistes), The Orchestra of the Royal Opera House, direction : Sir Colin Davis, mise en scène : Sir Peter Hall.