updated 22 February 2019
© Ciril Jazbec

Nina Šenk

Slovenian composer born 14 February 1982.

Nina Šenk studied composition with Pavel Mihelčič at the Ljubljana Music Academy, and later in Dresden with Lothar Voigtländer. In 2008, she obtained a Master’s degree from the Munich University of Music and Performing Arts under the tutelage of Matthias Pintscher. From 2008 to 2010, she was composer-in-residence with the Staatstheater Cottbus Orchestra in Germany.

Šenk has been awarded numerous accolades, including the European Prize for the Best Composition at the Young Euro Classic Festival for her Violin Concerto in 2004, a Prešeren Prize from the Ljubljana Academy of Music, and first prize at the Weimarer Frühjahrstage for Movimento fluido in 2008.

Her music has been programmed at numerous festivals in Germany, Austria and Slovenia, including the Salzburger Festspiele, Young Euro Classic Berlin, Kasseler Musiktage, Musica Viva Munich, Frankfurter Positionen, Weimarer Frühjahrstage, Heidelberger Frühling, Ljubljana Summer Festival Slowind Festival and Slovenian Music Days, as well as at the Takefu Festival in Japan, and the New York Philharmonic Biennial. Her works have been performed by orchestras and ensembles such as the New York Philharmonic, Staatstheater Cottbus Orchestra, Young Euro Classic Festival Orchestra, Slovenian Philharmonic Orchestra, RTV Slovenia Symphony Orchestra, Ensemble InterContemporain, Ensemble Modern, Ensemble Mosaik, London Sinfonietta, United Berlin, Slowind, Ensemble Aleph, Altera Veritas, MD7, DC8 Ensemble Concorde, and the Berlin Kammersymphonie.

© Ircam-Centre Pompidou, 2019


Site de l’artiste

Liens Internet

(liens vérifiés en janvier 2019).


  • Nina ŠENK, *Art, Dreamcatcher, Quadrum, Dialogues & Circles,*4CDs ZKP RTTVSLO, 2017, 3838898114618.