! Informations prior to 2002: update is coming
© Theo Coolsma

Klas Torstensson

Swedish composer, born 16 January, 1951

Born in Sweden, Klas Torstensson has lived in the Netherlands since 1973. After studies of composition and music theory at the Ingesund Conservatory (Sweden), he pursued a degree in musicology at the University of Gothenburg (Sweden), and studied electo-acoustic music and computer-aided composition at the Institute of Sonology in Utrecht. His music, from pieces for solo instruments to orchestral and electronic works, has been performed at major festivals in Europe, North America, Australia and Japan.

His “inter-media” project Barstend IJs was premiered at the Holland Festival in 1986. In 1991, he was awarded the Matthijs Vermeulen Prize for his work Stick on Stick for orchestra. Several of his works have been performed by Ensemble Intercontemporain and at IRCAM (in 1983, 1985 and 1989). Klas Torstensson’s works are published by Donemus Amsterdam.

Notable pieces include Redskap for six percussionnists (1976), Spans for bass clarinet (1981), Järn for 12 musicians (1982), Fläkä for orchestra (1983), Spåra for 12 musicians (1984), Isogloss for 24 vocalists (1985), Barstend Ijs for 24 vocalists, four percussionnists, tape, video, spectrograms and lasers (1986), Licks ans Brains, a trilogy for saxophone and orchestra (1987/88), Stick on Stick for orchestra (1990), Koorde for two pianos (1990) and Urban Solo for soprano (1991).

© Ircam-Centre Pompidou, 1997

  • Solo (excluding voice)
    • Pedaal for violin and amplification (1982), 9 mn, Donemus
  • Concertant music
  • Vocal music and instrument(s)