updated 19 September 2019

Januibe Tejera

Franco-Brazilian composer born in 1979 in Salvador de Bahia, Brazil.

Januibe Tejera studied with Flávio Oliveira in Brazil, and later with Gérard Pesson and Luis Naón at the Paris Conservatoire (CNSMDP), graduating cum laude. With an interest in electro-acoustic music, he also participated in the IRCAM Cursus (IRCAM’s composition and computer music course) in 2013-2014.

In 2014-2015, he was a resident at the Casa de Velásquez, as well as composer-in-residence at the Ibermúsica Foundation and with the Sigma Quartet Project in Spain. In 2017, he was composer-in-residence with the Warning Collective, which gave rise to the creation of the scenic work Insanæ Navis at the Vanves Theatre (in the suburbs of Paris). Also in 2017, his theatrical music work, Moi, singe, based on the writings of Kafka, was premiered by the Accroche Note and Hanatsu Miroir Ensembles in Strasbourg.

He was artistic director of the Contemporanea-RS Festival in Porto Alegre (Brazil) from 2003 to 2010, and also taught electro-acoustic composition in the Master’s programme at the University of Paris-Est and at the Bagnolet Conservatory.

His work is influenced by theatre and oral musical traditions. His musical language exists at the boundaries between different musical styles and scenic arts in an attempt to create a total work of art.

His music has been performed by groups such as Ictus, Ensemble Modern, Ensemble Intercontemporain, TM+, the Radio France Philharmonic Orchestra, and Camerata Aberta, and has been programmed in festivals and concert series in Europe and the Americas including Présences, Musica Nova, Darmstadt, Milano Musica, and ManiFeste.

Awards, Grants, and Prizes

  • 2015: Ibermúsicas Prize
  • 2013: Prize in the 4th Gustavo Becerra Schmidt Latin-American Electro-acoustic Composition Competition
  • 2011: Salabert Foundation Prize
  • 2011: Staubach Honoraria for the Darmstadt Summer Course
  • 2010: Prize from the Brazilian Ministry of Culture at the XVIII Biennale of Brazilian Contemporary Music
  • 2008: Second Prize in the Franz Liszt International Composition Competition (Weimar)
  • 2005: First Prize from the Brazilian Government at the XV Biennale of Brazilian Contemporary Music
  • 2004: Second Prize in the Michel Debost Composition Competition (Brazil)

© Ircam-Centre Pompidou, 2019


Site personnel du compositeur ; Casa de Velásquez. 

  • Concertant music
    • elec Tablado for accordion, instrumental ensemble, light and live electronics (2018-2019), 35 mn, JTM-Editions [program note]
  • 2019
    • elec Tablado for accordion, instrumental ensemble, light and live electronics, 35 mn, JTM-Editions [program note]


Liens internet

(liens vérifiés en mars 2019).


  • Januibe TEJERA, Tremble, dans « Schrift », 1 CD Stradivarius, 2016, STR 37047.