! Informations prior to 2002: update is coming

Giovanni Verrando

Italian composer born 29 May, 1965 in Sanremo

Born in Sanremo, Italy, in 1965, Giovanni Verrando first studied piano and classical guitar at the Menton Municipal Conservatory, and then composition at the Milan Conservatory with Giacomo Manzoni and Niccolo Castiglioni. He also studied philosophy at the University of Milan. He undertook further study of composition with Franco Donatoni at the Accademia Chigiana in Siena, where he was awarded the Diploma of Merit and the Siae Prize. In 1993-1994, he participated in the IRCAM Cursus (IRCAM’s composition and computer music course), where his professors included Tristan Murail and Brian Ferneyhough. He lived in Paris until 1997, undertaking research into music technology and synthesis.

He has won numerous prizes, including Vienna Modern Masters (1991), C. Togni (1992), Ircam/Ensemble Intercontemporain Comité de lecture (1995), 11 Kompositionswettbewerb Boswil (1995), Gaudeamus Music Week (1995), Federazione Cemat (Rome, 1998) and Aix-en-Provence International Festival (1999). His works have been performed by ensembles such as Ensemble Intercontemporain, Arditti Quartet, Bruno Canino and Ensemble Itinéraire, and at festivals and venues such as Wien Modern, Centre Pompidou, Musica (Strasbourg), Opera Bastille, Milano Musica and elsewhere, including in Berlin, Huddersfield, Helsinki, Tokyo and New York. He has been commissioned by Ircam, French Ministry of Culture, Rai Radio Tre, Venice Biennale, etc. His work Alex Brücke Langer, directed by Yoshi Oida, with video by Tom Schenk and commissioned by the Aix-en-Provence Festival and the Bolzano Fondazione Nuovo Teatro Comunale, was premiered in April 2003.

Upcoming projects include new works for Les Percussions de Strasbourg, Alterego and Pansonic for the Archipel Festival in Geneva, and a commission from the Rai National Symphony Orchestra. Since 2000, he has taught composition at the Milano Academy of Music. His works are published by Edizioni Suvini Zerboni.

© Ircam-Centre Pompidou, 2005

  • Chamber music
  • Instrumental ensemble music
    • elec ircam Sottile for ensemble and electronics (1997), 14 mn, Suvini Zerboni
  • Vocal music and instrument(s)
  • Electronic music / fixed media / mechanical musical instruments