Elliott Carter (1908-2012)

Two Controversies and a Conversation (2011)

pour piano, percussion et orchestre

  • General information
    • Composition date : 2011
    • Duration : 11 mn
    • Editor : Boosey & Hawkes
    • Commission: New York Philharmonic, Aldeburgh Festival et Radio France
Detailed formation
  • flûte piccolo (aussi flûte), 2 hautbois, 2 clarinettes (aussi 1 clarinette en mib, 1 clarinette basse), basson, cor, 2 trompettes, trombone, 2 violons, 2 violons II, 2 altos, 2 violoncelles, 2 contrebasses [nombre de cordes minimum]

Creation information

  • Date : 8 June 2012
    Location :

    États-Unis, New York, Metropolitan Museum

    Performers :

    Colin Currie : percussion, Eric Huebner : piano, New York Philharmonic : David Robertson.

Program note

After the premiere of Conversations at the Aldeburgh Festival in June of 2011 Oliver Knussen suggested that I expand this piece. I decided to add two more movements, which became the two controversies. The first of the two controversies has the percussion in the leading role and the second features the piano which ends the movement in a flourish.

Elliott Carter.