Elliott Carter (1908-2012)

Violin Concerto (1990)

  • Informations générales
    • Date de composition : 1990
    • Durée : 28 mn
    • Éditeur : Boosey & Hawkes
Effectif détaillé
  • soliste : violon
  • 2 flûtes (aussi 1 flûte piccolo), flûte piccolo, 2 hautbois, cor anglais, 2 clarinettes (aussi 1 clarinette en mib, 1 clarinette basse), clarinette basse, basson, 4 cors, 3 trompettes, 3 trombones, tuba, 2 percussionnistes, 16 violons, 14 violons II, 12 altos, 10 violoncelles, 8 contrebasses [ou]

Information sur la création

  • Date : 2 mai 1990
    Lieu :

    États-Unis, San Francisco, Californie, Davies Symphony Hall

    Interprètes :

    Ole Böhn : violon, San Francisco Symphony, direction : Herbert Blomstedt.


Enregistrement : Ole Böhn : violon, London Sinfonietta, direction : Oliver Knussen, EMI Classics 206 6292.

Note de programme

Composed for the Norwegian soloist Ole Bøhn, this is one of the great violin concertos of the late twentieth century, in company with those of György Ligeti and John Adams. Its shape is unusually orthodox for Carter: a big opening movement, full of combat and of urgent lyricism from the soloist, is followed by a slow movement and then a light, capricious finale. Carter’s violin, though, is typically independent. It spends most of the slow movement resisting the orchestra’s invitations to relax into elegy, and it turns the finale from dancing humor to a renewal of argument, cuing a cadenza.

Paul Griffiths.