Thomas Adès (1971)

Under Hamelin Hill (1992)

pour orgue

  • Informations générales
    • Date de composition : 1992
    • Durée : 8 mn
    • Éditeur : Faber Music
    • Opus : 6
  • Genre
    • Musique soliste (sauf voix) [Orgue]
Effectif détaillé
  • orgue

Information sur la création

  • Date : 29 juillet 1992
    Lieu :

    Royaume-Uni, Cambridge, Ely Cathedral

    Interprètes :

    Thomas Adès, Charles Armstrong, James Martin (orgue)

Titres des parties

1. Preambulum
2. Fuga a tre voce, con alcune licenze
3. Arietta

Note de programme

Based on the story of the Pied Piper, Under Hamelin Hill is an exuberant invention for chamber organ: the Preambulum a right-hand moto perpetuo over punchy, teasing rhythms for the left hand; the Fuga a surprise as two further players, drawn by the piping, come on to join the first players; the Arietta a long, descending sigh over mysterious rumbles.

Andrew Porter.