Elliott Carter (1908-2012)

Three Explorations (2010 -2011)

pour baryton solo, bois et cuivres

  • Informations générales
    • Date de composition : 2010 - 2011
    • Durée : 10 mn
    • Éditeur : Boosey & Hawkes
Effectif détaillé
  • soliste : baryton solo
  • 2 flûtes (aussi 1 flûte piccolo, 2 flûtes altos, 1 flûte basse), hautbois, 2 clarinettes basses (aussi 1 clarinette, 1 clarinette contrebasse), 3 trompettes, trombone, trombone ténor-basse, trombone basse

Information sur la création

  • Date : 12 décembre 2011
    Lieu :

    États-Unis, New York, NY, Alice Tully Hall

    Interprètes :

    Evan Hughes : baryton, AXIOM Ensemble, direction : Jeffrey Milarsky.

Note de programme

Throughout my life I have been a great admirer of T.S. Eliot’s poetry and criticism. So when I decided to set some of his work I chose his late poems and parts of his Four Quartets.The texts being meditative I decided to use winds and brass to accompany the bass baritone. I remembered a work of similar character and instrumentation by the 16th century composer Heinrich Schütz which impressed me greatly. The work was composed in the fall of 2010.

Elliott Carter.