Toshio Hosokawa (1955)

Sternlose Nacht - Requiem für Jahreszeiten (2010)

pour soprano, mezzo-soprano, récitant, chœur mixte et orchestre

  • Informations générales
    • Date de composition : 2010
      Dates de révision : 2012
    • Durée : 50 mn
    • Éditeur : Schott
    • Commande : Mahler Chamber Orchestra avec le soutien d’Ernst von Siemens Foundation for Music
    • Livret (détail, auteur) :

      texte (en japonais et en allemand) : Georg Trakl, Gershom Sholem, Masao Masunishi (en allemand), Lothar Metzger, Angela Gill (en japonais et en allemand) 

Effectif détaillé
  • solistes : soprano solo, mezzo-soprano solo, récitant
  • chœur mixte
  • 2 flûtes (aussi 1 flûte piccolo, 1 flûte alto), 2 hautbois (aussi 1 cor anglais), 2 clarinettes (aussi 1 clarinette basse), 2 bassons (aussi 1 contrebasson), 4 cors, 2 trompettes, 2 trombones, tuba, 3 percussionnistes, harpe, célesta (aussi piano), cordes

Information sur la création

  • Date : 2 octobre 2010
    Lieu :

    Allemagne, Baden-Baden

    Interprètes :

    Sally Mathews, Mihoko Fujimura, WDR Rundfunkchor, Mahler Chamber Orchestra, direction : Kent Nagano.

Note de programme

Sternlose Nacht consists of nine movements combining two contrasting elements: a cycle of the seasons with poetry by Georg Trakl (in the movements I, IV, V and IX) and a reflection on the two major tragedies of the Second World War: the bombing of Dresden and Hiroshima in the winter and summer of 1945. In the third movement ’Grabstein in Dresden’, two narrators provide an account of the events of February 1945 accompanied by choir and orchestra. In the seventh movement ’Grabstein in Hiroshima’, a mezzo soprano sings the report of a young boy who survived the atomic bomb attack in the summer of 1945. The text of the eighth movement, the emotional poem ’Gruß vom Angelus’ by Gershom Scholem, is a pessimistic summary of these reports of man’s inhumanity to man and is sung by a soprano accompanied by two trumpets and percussion.