Jason Eckardt (1971)

16 (2003)

pour flûte amplifiée et trio à cordes

œuvre électronique

  • Informations générales
    • Date de composition : 2003
    • Durée : 10 mn
    • Éditeur : Majolika
    • Commande : Auros Group for New Music avec le support de la Brannen-Cooper Fund
    • Dédicace : Susan Gall
Effectif détaillé
  • 1 flûte [amplifiée] , 1 violon, 1 alto, 1 violoncelle

Information sur la création


deuxieme partie de ‘Undersong’

Note de programme

    <p>The work's title refers to the sixteen words that should have been excised from George Bush's January 2003 State of the Union address: "The British government has learned that Saddam Hussein recently sought significant quantities of uranium from Africa." This false claim illustrates the policy of deceit typical of the morally impoverished current administration. As an artist angered and ashamed by my country's actions, my deepest response is expressed in my work and my faith in art's ability to contribute to — if not transform — society.</p><p>16 was commissioned by the Auros Group for New Music with support from the Brannen-Cooper Fund and is dedicated to Susan Gall.</p><p><em>Jason Eckardt.</em><br /></p>