Elliott Carter (1908-2012)

Rhapsodic Musings (2001)

pour violon solo

  • Informations générales
    • Date de composition : 2001
    • Durée : 5 mn
    • Éditeur : Breitkopf & Härtel
    • Cycle : 4 Lauds
  • Genre
    • Musique soliste (sauf voix) [Violon]
Effectif détaillé
  • violon

Information sur la création

  • Date : 21 mars 2001
    Lieu :

    États-Unis, New York, Merkin Hall

    Interprètes :

    Robert Mann.


voir aussi 4 Lauds

Note de programme

Rhapsodic Musings is a present to Robert Mann on his 80th birthday. It is a small tribute to his extraordinary, devoted advocacy of contemporary music. As is well-known, with the other members of the Juilliard Quartet he gave such pioneering and commanding performances of quartets by Bartók, Schoenberg, and many others, including my own, that many of these works became part of the performers’ repertory. His teaching and other activities brought these scores to the attention of students.Using his initials R. M. in the title of this short violin solo and in its main motive – re, mi (D, E) – this piece tries to suggest some of his remarkable human and artistic qualities. It was composed in June, 2000, in Southbury, Connecticut.

Elliott Carter.