John Zorn (1953)

The Aristos (2014)

for violin, clarinet and piano

  • General information
    • Composition date: 2014
    • Duration: 11 mn
    • Publisher: Hips Road Edition
Detailed formation
  • clarinet, piano, violin

Premiere information


Présentation de l’éditeur : Written under the spell of John Fowles’ masterwork The Magus, The Aristos is subtitled nine metaphysical ambiguities for violin, cello and piano. In keeping with enigmatic nature of The Magus, where reality and fantasy intertwine, the composition is tight and fast moving, with many surprises and unusual juxtapositions. A collection of aural philosophical aphorisms.