John Cage (1912-1992)

Sounday (1977 -1978)

radiophonic piece for violin, piano, voice, nine performers with amplified plant materials and water-filled conch shells, blown conch shells and tape.

electronic work

  • General information
    • Composition date: 1977 - 1978
    • Duration: 10 h
    • Publisher: Inédit, manuscrit conservé à la New York Public Library
    • Dedication: Grete Sultan et Paul Zukofsky

Premiere information

  • Date: 15 June 1978

    Pays-Bas, Amsterdam


    John Cage, Grete Sultan, Paul Zukofsky et Demetrio Stratos.

Information on the electronics
Electronic device: sons fixés sur support