Panayiotis Kokoras (1974)

Crama (2006)

for sextet

  • General information
    • Composition date: 2006
    • Duration: 10 mn
    • Publisher: Inédit
    • Commission: Fondation de musique Fromm (Université de Harvard) à Boston
Detailed formation
  • 1 flute, 1 clarinet, 1 piano, 1 violin, 1 viola, 1 cello

Premiere information

  • Date: 14 October 2007

    Etats-Unis, New York, Institut Culturel Tenri


    l'International Contemporary Ensemble.


Premier Prix du Gianni Bergamo Classic Music Award 2007 de Lugano, Suisse.

Program note

The piece Crama is a commission of the Fromm Music Foundation at the Harvard University. The title of the piece refers to a homogeneous mixture that consists of two or more elements mixed together. The result usually has different properties, sometimes substantially different, from those of its initial components. The piece eschews from harmony, melody, even intervallic relationships.

Panayiotis Kokoras, été 2006, Thessalonique