Jonathan Harvey (1939-2012)

Bird Concerto with Pianosong (2001)

for solo piano, chamber orchestra and live electronics

electronic work

  • General information
    • Composition date: 2001
    • Duration: 30 mn
    • Publisher: Faber Music
    • Commission: Sinfonia 21 et GRAME : Ensemble Orchestral Contemporain (Lyon)
Detailed formation
  • soloist: piano (also electronic/MIDI keyboard/synthesizer [sampler keyboard SY77] )
  • piccolo, oboe, 2 clarinets (also 1 bass clarinet), bassoon, horn, trumpet, trombone, 2 percussionists, harp, accordion, violin, second violin, viola, cello, double bass

Premiere information

  • Date: 11 July 2001

    Royaume-Uni, festival de Cheltenham


    Joanna MacGregor, Sinfonia 21, direction : Martyn Brabbins.

Information on the electronics
Electronic device: temps réel (5 (or 10) speakers with their amplifiers/Macintosh computer(s)/2 joy sticks/game sprockets 1.7.5for Macintosh/yamaha SY77 synth/emulator E64 sampler/SIP driver for MAC100 iomega disks/sophisticated computerised mixer/audio and MIDI cables. Software needed)