updated 11 May 2009
© Kasia Ozga

Aaron Einbond

American composer born 20 June 1978 in New York.

Aaron Einbond was born in New York in 1978. He studied composition at Harvard University with John Corigliano and Mario Davidovsky, at Cambridge University with Robin Holloway, and at the Royal College of Music in London with Julian Anderson. He has participated in festivals, master classes, and conferences including the Wellesley Composers Conference, the Aspen Music Festival, and the June in Buffalo Festival in New York State. He has held residencies at Yaddo and the Cité Internationale des Arts in Paris, participated in the Darmstadt Summer Courses in 2002, and in the Voix Nouvelles Composition Sesson of the Fondation Royaumont in 2004. From 2003 to 2005, he was a musical assistant with the San Francisco Contemporary Music Players, and with the Ensemble Aleph in Paris the following year. He taught at the University of California, Berkeley from 2004 to 2006, and taught a Max MSP workshop organised by the CIRM and the Conservatoire à Rayonnement Régional de Nice in 2009.

From 2007-2009, Einbond pursued his studies of composition and computer music with Philippe Leroux and Yan Maresz during an artistic research residency at IRCAM (jointly with the Technical University of Berlin) thanks to a Fulbright fellowship and the University of California George Ladd Prize.

Einbond’s compositions have been performed throughout the world, notably by the Empyrean and SurPlus ensembles and the Nouvel Ensemble Moderne.

He received his doctorate in composition from the University of California, Berkeley (under the supervision of Edmund Campion), where he also studied orchestral conducting and musical perception. From 2009 to 2011, he taught at Columbia University in New York as a Mellon Postdoctoral Fellow.

  • Nicola De Lorenzo Prize, University of California, Berkeley in 2005, 2006, 2007
  • BMI Composition Prize in 1994 and 2004
  • Sullivan and Farrar Prize, Royal College of Music of London in 2002
  • Master’s Book Prize, Cambridge University in 2001
  • Hugh F. MacColl Prize, Harvard University in 2000
  • ASCAP Young Composers Prize in 1995 and 1996; honorable mention in 1998, 1994, 1993
  • First prize in Bertelsmann’s World of Expression Competition in 1996
  • First prize for young composer at the National Guild of Community Schools of the Arts in 1994
  • First Prize, Delius international composition competition, 1994
  • Fellowship, Domaine Forget International Music Festival, Quebec, Canada in 2003
  • Fulbright Scholarship, 2007-2008
  • Georges Ladd Prize, University of California, Berkeley, 2008-2009
  • French-American Exchange fellowship with the CIRM, Nice, France, in 2006
  • Charles Ives Fellowship, American Academy of Arts and Letters in 2005
  • Fellowship for study at the University of California, Berkeley, 2002-2007
  • British Marshal Fellowship, 2000
  • Wister Prize, Harvard University, 2000
  • Phi Beta Kappa, 1999
  • Detur Book Prize, Harvard University, 1997
  • Westinghouse Science Talent Search, 1996

© Ircam-Centre Pompidou, 2009


Site de la “Society of composer, page Aaron Einbond (voir ressources socumentaires).

  • Solo (excluding voice)
    • Microtures for solo piano (2005), 8 mn, Inédit
    • elec Temper for bass clarinet and live electronics (2006), 8 mn, Inédit [program note]
    • elec ircam Ircam cursus Beside Oneself for viola and live electronics (2008), 7 mn, Inédit [program note]
    • elec Break for baritone saxophone and live electronics (2008), 10 mn, Inédit
    • elec Starting Over for Paetzold contrabass recorder and live electronics (2009), 7 mn, Inédit
  • Chamber music
    • Leaping Lizards percussion duo (2005), 8 mn, Inédit
    • Allusions for clarinet / bass clarinet, double bass and piano (2007), 10 mn, Inédit
  • Instrumental ensemble music
    • Still Lives for 16 musicians (2007), 10 mn, Inédit
    • elec ircam Ircam cursus What the Blind See for bass clarinet, viola, harp, percussion, prepared piano and live electronics (2008-2009), 16 mn, Inédit [program note]
  • Electronic music / fixed media / mechanical musical instruments


  • Aaron EINBOND, John MACCALLUM, « Real-Time Analysis of Sensory Dissonance »,dans Computer Music Modeling and Retrieval. Sense of Sounds, Heidelberg, Editions Springer Verlag, 2008.
  • Aaron EINBOND, « 12-note Roots: The Fifth and Sixth Movements of The Death of Moses. », dans Sing Ariel: Essays and Thoughts for Alexander Goehr’s 70th Birthday (édité par Alison Latham), Aldershot, Editions Ashgate Publishing Limited, 2003.