Simon Steen-Andersen (1976)

Black Box Music (2012)

pour percussion solo, boîte amplifiée, 15 instruments et vidéo

electronic work

  • General information
    • Composition date : 2012
    • Duration : 32 mn
    • Editor : Edition-S
Detailed formation
  • soliste : percussionniste
  • saxophone baryton, clarinette basse, basson, cor, trompette, trombone, piano, 3 percussionnistes, harpe, guitare électrique, alto, violoncelle, contrebasse

Creation information

  • Date : 23 July 2012
    Location :

    Allemagne, Darmstadt, 613m2

    Performers :

    Håkon Stene : percussions, Oslo Sinfonietta.

Information about electronic
Electronic device : amplification, dispositif multimédia (vidéo, lumière)

Program note

Black Box Music is scored for percussion solo, amplified box, 15 instruments and video. The starting point is the classical soloist-conductor, only in this case, the conducting and solo part are one and the same. The setting is a traditional theater stage with curtains, props and lightning, only in this case, the stage is also an instrument. Black Box Music could be said to be a deconstruction of conducting and puppet theater as well as an exploration and exploitation of the audio/visual relations inherent in conducting and staging.