Ernst Krenek (1900-1991)

Concerto pour piano et orchestre n° 1 op. 18 en fa dièse majeur (1923)

  • Informations générales
    • Date de composition : 1923
    • Durée : 30 mn
    • Éditeur : Universal Edition
    • Opus : 18
Effectif détaillé
  • soliste : piano
  • 2 flûtes, 2 hautbois, 2 clarinettes, 2 bassons, 4 cors, trompette, cordes

Information sur la création

  • Date : 19 December 1923
    Lieu :

    Suisse, Winterthur

    Interprètes :

    Eduard Erdmann : piano, Hermann Scherchen.

Note de programme

By the time Eduard Erdmann (1896–1958) asked Krenek for a tonal piano concerto, the young composer had already embraced atonal music. But he took on the commission, seeing it as a welcome challenge, and composed the piece in F# major. The concerto begins and ends with solos for the piano – a formal device he returned to in the two subsequent piano concertos. In the general view, Schubert’s influence on Krenek did not emerge until about 1929; but Krenek acknowledged that he was already using the “tonal artifices” he had learned from Schubert when he wrote his Op. 18 concerto in 1923.

Source : Universal Edition.