Toshio Hosokawa (1955)

The Raven (2011)

monodrame pour mezzo-soprano et ensemble

  • General information
    • Composition date : 2011
    • Duration : 40 mn
    • Editor : Schott
    • Commande: the United Instruments of Lucilin (Luxembourg)
    • Livret (détail, auteur) :

      Edgar Allan Poe

Detailed formation
  • soliste : mezzo-soprano solo
  • flûte (aussi flûte alto, flûte piccolo, flûte basse), clarinette (aussi clarinette basse), saxophone ténor (aussi saxophone alto), trompette, trombone, percussionniste, piano, violon, violon II, alto, violoncelle, contrebasse

Creation information

  • Date : 17 March 2012
    Location :

    Belgique, Bruxelles, La Raffinerie, Ars Musica 2012

    Performers :

    Charlotte Hellekant : mezzo-soprano, United Instruments of Lucilin, direction : Toshio Hosokawa.

Program note

When I read The Raven by Edgar Allan Poe, it reminded me of the Japanese Noh play. A view of the world in the Noh is not anthropocentric. Some of the main characters in the Noh are animals and plants, and some are unearthly spirits. Poe describes the process of the collapse of the modern rational world, as a consequence of an invasion of the world by a weird animal ‘raven’ which lives in the other world. I considered this poem as a story of Noh and expressed it in the form of monodrama with mezzo-soprano and ensemble. 

Toshio Hosokawa.