Sir Harrison Birtwistle (1934)

The Shadow of Night (2001)

pour orchestre

  • Informations générales
    • Date de composition : 2001
    • Durée : 30 mn
    • Éditeur : Boosey & Hawkes
Effectif détaillé
  • 3 flûtes (aussi 2 flûtes piccolos, 1 flûte alto), 3 hautbois (aussi 1 cor anglais), 2 clarinettes (aussi 1 clarinette en mib), clarinette basse (aussi clarinette contrebasse), 3 bassons (aussi 1 contrebasson), 6 cors, 4 trompettes (aussi 1 trompette piccolo), 4 trombones, 2 tubas, 5 percussionnistes, 2 harpes, célesta, orgue, 16 violons, 14 violons II, 11 altos, 10 violoncelles, 8 contrebasses [nombre de cordes minimum]

Information sur la création

  • Date : 10 January 2002
    Lieu :

    États-Unis, Ohio, Cleveland, Severance Hall

    Interprètes :

    l'orchestre de Cleveland, direction : Christoph von Dohnanyi.

Note de programme

I conceived The Shadow of Night as a companion piece to Earth Dances, also in the repertoire of the Cleveland Orchestra. Yet whereas the 1985 work is rhythmically energetic, its structures quite Cubist, The Shadow of Night is a mirror image – a slow and reflective nocturne, exploring the world of melancholy as understood and celebrated by Elizabethan poets and composers.

The title is drawn from a long poem by George Chapman (1559-1634), which is one of the fullest explorations of this theme, where melancholy is no longer an inert and depressive mood, but a humour of the night, an inspired spiritual condition.

I took inspiration from two dark sources – the expressions of melancholy in Albrecht Dürer's engraving Melencolia I (1514) and John Dowland's lute song In Darkness Let Me Dwell, the first three notes of which are quoted in the piccolo's solo soon after the opening of the piece. This motif, which rises a semitone and down again, is woven into the fabric of the work and also alluded to figuratively: lines split and later reunite, the notes of a chord move away and back again, and longer melodic lines are interrupted and resumed like the moon shining through a series of slowly passing clouds.

  1. CAUSSÉ, Réné, SLUCHIN, Benny, Sourdines des cuivres, Paris : Editions de la Maison des sciences de l'homme, 1991. 

  2. Yan Maresz, cité par Bruno Heuzé, dans HEUZÉ, Bruno, « Yan Maresz, Portrait », Résonance, Ircam/Centre Georges Pompidou, n° 14, septembre 1998, page 16. 

  3. SAARIAHO, Kaija, « Timbre et harmonie », dans Le timbre, métaphore pour la composition, Jean-Baptiste Barrière, éd., Paris, Ircam - Christian Bourgois, 1991, p. 412-453. 

  4. GRABOCZ, Martha, « La musique contemporaine finlandaise : conception gestuelle de la macrostucture / Saariaho et Lindberg », Cahiers du CIREM, Musique et geste, n ° 26-27, décembre 1992-mars 1993, p. 158. 

  5. BATTIER, Marc, NOUNO, Gilbert, « L'électronique dans l'opéra de Kaija Saariaho, L'Amour de loin », in Carlos AGON, Gérard ASSAYAG, Jean BRESSON, The OM Composer's Book, coll. Musique et sciences, Ircam, Centre Georges-Pompidou, 2006, p. 21-30.  

Harrison Birtwistle, 2003.