Thomas Adès (1971)

Violin Concerto (2005)

Concentric Paths, pour violon et orchestre de chambre

  • Informations générales
    • Date de composition : 2005
    • Durée : 20 mn
    • Éditeur : Faber Music, Londres
    • Opus : 23
    • Commande: Festival de Berlin et le Los Angeles Philharmonic (direction musicale : Esa-Pekka Salonen).
Effectif détaillé
  • soliste : violon
  • 2 flûte, 2 hautbois, 2 clarinette, 2 basson, 3 cor, 2 trompette, trombone, tuba, 2 percussionniste, 10 violon, 8 violon II, 6 alto, 5 violoncelle, 3 contrebasse

Information sur la création

  • Date : 4 September 2005
    Lieu :

    Allemagne, Berlin, Festival de Berlin, Kammermusiksaal

    Interprètes :

    Anthony Marwood : violon et l'orchestre de chambre d'Europe, direction : Thomas Adès.

Titres des parties

  • I. Rings
  • II. Paths
  • III. Rounds

Note de programme

This concerto has three movements, like most, but it is really more of a triptych, as the middle one is the largest. It is the “slow” movement, built from two large, and very many small, independent cycles, which overlap and clash, sometimes violently, in their motion towards resolution. The outer movements too are circular in design, the first fast, with sheets of unstable harmony in different orbits, the third playful, at ease, with stable cycles moving in harmony at different rates.

Extrait du livret du CD « Adès – Violin Concerto », CD EMI Classics, 2007.