! Informations prior to 2002 : update is coming

Theodor Adorno

German philosopher, writer, and composer, born 11 September 1903 in Frankfurt-am-Main, died 6 August 1969 in Viège (Visp), Switzerland.

Theodor Adorno studied music in Frankfurt with Bernhard Sekles and with Alban Berg in Vienna while also preparing his habilitation from the University of Frankfurt, where he later taught. In the mid-1920s he was a prolific music critic and ultimately served on the editorial committee of Musikblätter des Anbruch (1928-1931). He collaborated with Thomas Mann as his music advisor for the novel Doktor Faustus, whose hero was based on the composer Arnold Schoenberg.

In 1934, after Hitler seized power, Adorno fled Germany for Oxford, and from there emigrated to the United States, where he took a position with the Princeton Radio Project (1938-1941), after which he settled for a time in California. In 1949, he returned to Germany, where he became a professor at the University of Frankfurt, and served as the director of the Institut für Sozialforschung de Francfort (the Frankfurt Institute for Social Research). He taught at the Darmstadt International Summer Courses for New Music, where he was a key figure in the philosophical and aesthetic debate over the renaissance of serialism. There, he met and mentored serialist composers such as Pierre Boulez, Karlheinz Stockhausen, and Luigi Nono. He published numerous essays on new music, its aesthetics, and its sociology, notably, Philosophy of New Music, Introduction to the Sociology of Music, and a series of remarkable pieces on Alban Berg, Arnold Schoenberg, Richard Wagner, as well as other, more literary pieces.

Adorno’s influence on aesthetics and the philosophy of music is tremendous, particularly through his application of Marxist and Freudian theory to the study of music. While he is widely read as a philosopher, his reputation in that field has in some ways eclipsed his contributions to the field of music. While it does not have the originality of his philosophical thinking or the verve of his prose, Theodor Adorno’s music merits attention. His compositions include lieder, orchestral and choral works, an excellent String Quartet, and an orchestral transcription of Schumann, but are largely unpublished and rarely performed. For example, two magnificent String Trios, in which the influence of Hindemith and Berg are clear, although written in 1922 and sometime around 1930, respectively, were found in his archives years afterward and premiered at Darmstadt in 1994 to mark the twenty-fifth anniversary of his death.


© Ircam-Centre Pompidou, 1997

! Informations antérieures à 2002 : mise à jour à venir

Theodor Adorno

Philosophe, écrivain et compositeur allemand né le 11 septembre 1903 à Francfort sur le Main, mort le 6 août 1969 à Viège, Suisse

Il a fait ses études musicales avec Sekles à Francfort et avec Alban Berg à Vienne ; puis il enseigne à l'Université de Francfort. Il se consacre alors principalement à la critique musicale, comme rédacteur en chef de la revue musicale viennoise Anbruch (1928-1931). Il est le conseiller musical de Thomas Mann pour son roman Doktor Faustus, dont le héros est inspiré de la personnalité d'Arnold Schoenberg.

En 1934, il part pour Oxford, puis émigre aux Etats-Unis ; il fait des recherches dans le domaine radiophonique à Princeton University (1938-1941), puis s'installe en Californie. En 1949, il retourne en Allemagne, où il dirige l'Institut für Sozialforschung de Francfort, et participe activement aux Cours d'été de Darmstadt où il est la référence philosophique de la musique sérielle renaissante. Il rencontre et conseille alors tous les compositeurs de ce mouvement : Pierre Boulez, Karlheinz Stockhausen, Luigi Nono... Il publie de nombreux essais sur la nouvelle musique, son esthétique et sa sociologie, notamment : Philosophie de la Nouvelle Musique, Introduction à une Sociologie de la Musique, et des essais remarquables sur Alban Berg, Arnold Schoenberg, Richard Wagner, ainsi que des écrits plus littéraires.

Adorno a exercé une profonde influence sur la philosophie musicale et l'esthétique, appliquant les doctrines de Karl Marx et les technique psychoanalytique de Freud à l'analyse du fait musical. Si son oeuvre écrite est maintenant bien connue en France (encore que partiellement traduite), sa musique a souffert de la renommée du philosophe : auteur de lieder, d'oeuvres orchestrales, chorales, d'un magnifique Quatuor à cordes, d'orchestrations de pièces de Schumann, elle est largement inédite, et peu exécutée. Ainsi par exemple, deux magnifiques Trios à cordes (de 1922 et ca. 1930), montrant successivement l'influence de Hindemith et celle de Berg, ont été retrouvés dans ses archives, et créés seulement en 1994 à Darmstadt à l'occasion d'un colloque poru célébrer le vingt-cinquième anniversaire de sa mort.Même si elle n'a jamais l'originalité de sa pensée philosophique, ni la personnalité de son style littéraire, la musique d'Adorno mérite d'être découverte.


© Ircam-Centre Pompidou, 1997