! Informations prior to 2002 : update is coming
© Theo Coolsma

Klas Torstensson

Swedish composer, born 16 January, 1951

Born in Sweden, Klas Torstensson has lived in the Netherlands since 1973. After studies of composition and music theory at the Ingesund Conservatory (Sweden), he pursued a degree in musicology at the University of Gothenburg (Sweden), and studied electo-acoustic music and computer-aided composition at the Institute of Sonology in Utrecht. His music, from pieces for solo instruments to orchestral and electronic works, has been performed at major festivals in Europe, North America, Australia and Japan.

His “inter-media” project Barstend IJs was premiered at the Holland Festival in 1986. In 1991, he was awarded the Matthijs Vermeulen Prize for his work Stick on Stick for orchestra. Several of his works have been performed by Ensemble Intercontemporain and at IRCAM (in 1983, 1985 and 1989). Klas Torstensson’s works are published by Donemus Amsterdam.

Notable pieces include Redskap for six percussionnists (1976), Spans for bass clarinet (1981), Järn for 12 musicians (1982), Fläkä for orchestra (1983), Spåra for 12 musicians (1984), Isogloss for 24 vocalists (1985), Barstend Ijs for 24 vocalists, four percussionnists, tape, video, spectrograms and lasers (1986), Licks ans Brains, a trilogy for saxophone and orchestra (1987/88), Stick on Stick for orchestra (1990), Koorde for two pianos (1990) and Urban Solo for soprano (1991).


© Ircam-Centre Pompidou, 1997

  • Solo (excluding voice)
    • Pedaal for violin and amplification (1982), 9 mn, Donemus
  • Concert music
  • Vocal music and instrument(s)

! Informations antérieures à 2002 : mise à jour à venir
© Theo Coolsma

Klas Torstensson

Compositeur suédois né le 16 janvier 1951.

Né en Suède, Klas Torstensson vit aux Pays-Bas depuis 1973.Après avoir étudié la composition et la théorie musicale au Conservatoire d'Ingesund (Suède), il a poursuivi ses études de musicologie à l'Université de Göteborg (Suède) et de composition électroacoustique / Composition Assistée par Ordinateur à l'Institut de Sonologie d'Utrecht (Pays-Bas). Ses oeuvres, allant de pièces solo à des oeuvres orchestrales et électroniques, ont été jouées lors d'importants festivals internationaux en Europe, aux Etats-Unis, au Canada, en Australie et au Japon.

Son projet «intermedia» Barstend IJs a été créé au Holland Festival de 1986.Pour sa composition Stick on Stick, pour grand orchestre il a reçu en 1991 le prix de composition le plus important des Pays-Bas, le prix Matthijs Vermeulen.Plusieurs de ses compositions ont été jouées par l'Ensemble Intercontemporain et l'Ircam en 1983, 1985 et 1989.

Klas Torstensson est publié chez Donemus Amsterdam.

Oeuvres principales: Redskap pour six percussionnistes (1976), Spans pour clarinette basse (1981), Järn pour douze musiciens (1982), Fläkä pour orchestre (1983), Spåra pour douze musiciens (1984), Isogloss pour vingt quatre voix (1985), Barstend Ijs pour vingt quatre voix, quatre percussionnistes, bande magnétique, vidéo, spectrogrammes et rayons laser (1986), Licks ans Brains, trilogie pour saxophones et orchestre (1987/88), Stick on Stick pour grand orchestre (1990), Koorde pour deux pianos (1990), Urban Solo pour soprano (1991).


© Ircam-Centre Pompidou, 1997

  • Musique soliste (sauf voix)
    • Pedaal pour violon et amplification (1982), 09 mn, Donemus
  • Musique concertante
  • Musique vocale et instrument(s)