updated 9 June 2022
© Jean Radel

Francesca Verunelli

Italian composer born in 1979 in Pietrasanta (Tuscany).

Francesca Verunelli studied composition with Rosario Mirigliano and piano with Stefano Fiuzzi at the Luigi Cherubini Conservatory in Florence, graduating summa cum laude. She undertook further studies with Azio Corghi at the Santa Cecilia Academy in Rome. In 2008, she participated in the IRCAM Cursus (IRCAM’s composition and computer music course), and the same year, was awarded a Silver Lion at the Venice Biennale.

During a research residency at IRCAM in 2011-2012, she was commissioned to compose Unfolding for string quartet and electronics. The piece was premiered by the Arditti Quartet at the Lyon Musiques en Scene Biennale in March 2012, and subsequently performed at the ManiFeste Festival the same year.

She has received commissions from IRCAM, NeueVocalsolisten Stuttgart, Venice Biennale, Radio France Philharmonic Orchestra, Milano Musica, Accentus Chamber Choir, Lucerne Symphony Orchestra, Court-Circuit, Aix-en-Provence Festival, GMEM (Marseille), CIRM (Nice), French Ministry for Culture, FACE Foundation, Wittener Tage für Neue Kammermusik, International Contemporary Ensemble, Donaueschinger MusikTage, ECLAT, Luxembourg Philharmonic Orchestra, Klangforum Wien, and Musica Viva (Munich).

She has been composer-in-residence at GMEM in Marseille, Casa de Velasquez, and the Villa Medici. In the summer of 2021, she was composer-in-residence at the Luberon Quartet Festival, where the Zaïde Quartet will premiere her piece, Unfolding II. She was awarded the 41st “Premio Abbiati della critica” in May 2022.


© Ircam-Centre Pompidou, 2015

Liens Internet

(liens vérifiés en juin 2022).

Discographie

  • Francesca VERUNELLI, The famous box trick, Claire Chase : flûte, dans « Density 2036 », 4 CD Corbett vs. Dempsey, 2020, CvsD CD076.

mise à jour le 24 July 2019
© Jean Radel

Francesca Verunelli

Compositrice italienne née en 1979 à Pietrasanta en Toscane.

Francesca Verunelli étudie la composition avec Rosario Mirigliano et le piano avec Stefano Fiuzzi au conservatoire Luigi Cherubini de Florence où elle obtient ses deux diplômes summa cum laude. Elle termine ses études à l’Académie Santa Cecilia à Rome, avec Azio Corghi. En 2008, elle intègre le Cursus de composition et d'informatique musicale de l'Ircam et reçoit la même année un Lion d'argent à la Biennale de Venise.

Compositrice en recherche à l'Ircam pour l'année 2011-2012, elle reçoit une commande de l'Institut pour Unfolding, quatuor à cordes avec électronique crée par le quatuor Arditti en mars 2012 à la Biennale Musiques en scène de Lyon et repris au festival ManiFeste 2012 de l'Ircam.

Elle reçoit des commandes d’importantes institutions musicales et festivals parmi lesquels l'Ircam, les NeueVocalsolisten Stuttgart, la Biennale de Venise, l’Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, Milano Musica, Accentus Chamber Choir, Lucerne Symphonic Orchestra, Court-Circuit, le Festival d’Aix-en-Provence, le GMEM de Marseille, le CIRM de Nice, l’Etat français, FACE Foundation, le Wittener Tage für Neue Kammermusik, l(International Contemporary Ensemble, le Donaueschinger MusikTage, ECLAT, l’Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg, Klangforum Wien, ou encore Musica Viva — Munich.

Elle a été compositrice en résidence au GMEM de Marseille, à la Casa de Velasquez et à la Villa Médicis (académie de France à Rome).


© Ircam-Centre Pompidou, 2015

Liens Internet

(liens vérifiés en juillet 2019).