! Informations prior to 2002 : update is coming

Caspar Johannes Walter

German composer born in 1964 in Frankfurt-am-Main.

Born in 1964 in Frankfurt-am-Main, Johannes Caspar Walter studied composition with Volker David Kirchner (1981-1982), Johannes Fritsch, and Klarenz Barlow at the Cologne Musikhochschule (1985-1990). He also attended the classes of Johannes Fritsch at the Darmstadt Summer Course.

From 1982 to 1983, he explored the mathematical foundations of music and constructed a set of percussion instruments with a tonal system comprising a 44-note octave, based on just intonation.

He cofounded Thürmchen Editions in 1985, and participated in the creation of Ensemble Thürmchen (a group dedicated to contemporary music and experimental theatre) in 1991. He remains the cellist in the ensemble.

His works have been performed in Japan (premieres of N° 1, N°2, and Vier Stücke gegen den Stillstand), USA (premiere of Farben), and at the Stockholm and Copenhagen Festivals (premiere of Dürchscheinende Etüde I/c).

Caspar Johannes Walter has received numerous composition prizes and grants, such as grants from the city of Cologne and from the region of North Rhine-Westfalia, the Irino Prix (Japan), a First Prize in the Wien Modern Competition, the Hindemith Prize at the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival Musique, and a grant from Villa Massimo in Rome.


© Ircam-Centre Pompidou, 2002

! Informations antérieures à 2002 : mise à jour à venir

Caspar Johannes Walter

Compositeur allemand né en 1964 à Frankfurt-am-Main

Né en 1964 à Frankfurt am Main, Johannes Caspar Walter a étudié la composition avec Volker-David Kirchner (1981-1982), Johannes Fritsch et Klarenz Barlow à la Musikhochschule de Cologne (1985-1990). Il a également assisté aux cours d'été de Johannes Fritsch à Darmstadt.

Entre 1982 et 1983, il explore les fondations mathématiques de la musique et construit des percussions avec un système tonal de 44 notes basé sur le tempérament pur.

Cofondateur des Editions Thürmchen en 1985, il participe également en 1991 à la fondation de l'Ensemble Thürmchen (musique contemporaine et théâtre musical expérimental) dont il est le violoncelliste.

Ses oeuvres ont notamment été jouées au Japon (création de N° 1, N°2, et de Vier Stücke gegen den Stillstand), aux Etats-Unis (création de Farben), aux festivals de Stockholm et Copenhague (création de Dürchscheinende Etüde I/c).

Caspar Johannes Walter est lauréat de nombreux prix de composition et bourses internationaux tels que les Bourses pour la Musique de la Ville de Cologne et de la région Nordrhein-Westfalen, le Prix Irino (Japon), le premier prix du concours Wien Modern, le prix Hindemith du Festival de Musique du Schleswig-Holstein, ainsi qu'une bourse pour la Villa Massimo (Rome)..


© Ircam-Centre Pompidou, 2002