! Informations prior to 2002 : update is coming

Alejandro Viñao

Argentinian composer born 4 September 1951 in Buenos Aires.

Born on 4 September 1951 in Buenos Aires, Alejandro Viñao first studied composition, guitar, and conducting in his home town. In 1975, he moved to England, where he studied at the Royal College of Music and the University of London, from where he graduated with a PhD in composition in 1988. He remains a resident of England.

His work Una Orquesta imaginaria for tape was awarded a second prize Ex Aequo (1979), and Go a first prize (1981), in the Bourges Electroacoustic Music Competition. Also in 1981, he received first prize in the electro-acoustic section of the UNESCO International Rostrum of Composers, and in 1992 was awarded the Bourges Euphonie d’Or.

Viñao’s music has been performed throughout Europe and the United States, and has been featured in festivals such as Tanglewood, Warsaw Autumm and the BBC Proms. He has been commissioned by ensembles and institutions such as IRCAM, MIT, BBC Symphony Orchestra, among others.

In 1987, Viñao was in residence at MIT. During his time in the United States, the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra premiered his Triple concerto, which received an honourable mention in the Ars Electronica Competition. In 1989, his work Son Entero for four voices and computer was also awarded a prize by Ars Electronica, and in 1992, Chant d’ailleurs won the first prize, the “Golden Nica”, in the same competition.

His music is characterised by the use of rhythmic pulses which dictate the overall form, and by melodic lines which are based upon rhythm as opposed to harmony, as is the case in much extra-European music.

In addition to his instrumental and electro-acoustic music, he frequently works on multimedia projects, and has composed the scores for some twenty films. He has also produced radio shows for the BBC.

In 1994, Alejandro Viñao was awarded a grant from the Guggenheim Foundation. He is currently working on a chamber opera commissioned by the Centre for Art and Media (ZKM) in Karlsruhe, as well as a new piece for orchestra.


© Ircam-Centre Pompidou, 2007

  • Chamber music
    • elec Triple Concerto for flute, piano, cello and computer (1983-1984), 27 mn, Inédit
    • elec Tumblers for violin, marimba and computer (1989), 17 mn, Inédit
    • elec Phrase & Fiction for string quartet and computer (1994), 20 mn, Inédit
  • Instrumental ensemble music
  • Concertant music
    • Marimba Concerto for solo marimba and chamber orchestra (1993), 20 mn, Inédit
  • A cappella vocal music
  • Electronic music / fixed media / mechanical musical instruments
  • Unspecified instrumentation
    • elec Rashomon chamber opera for seven singers and computer (1995), 40 mn, Inédit

! Informations antérieures à 2002 : mise à jour à venir

Alejandro Viñao

Compositeur argentin né le 4 septembre 1951 à Buenos Aires

Né le 4 septembre 1951 à Buenos Aires, Alejandro Viñao a étudié la composition, la guitare et la direction d'orchestre dans sa ville natale. En 1975, il s'installe en Angleterre où il continue ses études au Royal College of Music et à l'université de Londres. Il réside depuis en Angleterre. En 1988, il est diplômé de l'université de Londres (PhD de composition).

En 1979, sa pièce pour bande magnétique Una Orquesta imaginaria est récompensée par le deuxième prix ex-aequo au Concours international de musique électroacoustique de Bourges (France). En 1981, il reçoit, toujours à Bourges, le premier prix pour Go, puis le premier prix de la Tribune international des compositeurs, section électroacoustique, à l'Unesco en 1984, et l'Euphonie d'Or à Bourges en 1992.

La musique de Viñao a été jouée et diffusée partout en Europe et aux Etats-Unis, et à été présentée dans les principaux festivals internationaux comme le festival de Tanglewood, l'Automne de Varsovie ou les Concerts promenade de Londres (Proms).

Il a reçu des commandes de nombreux ensembles et institutions tels que l'Ircam, le Massachusetts Institut of Technology (MIT), le BBC Symphony Orchestra, etc.

En 1987, Viñao est en résidence au MIT. Pendant son séjour aux Etats-Unis, l'Orchestre symphonique de San Francisco crée son Triple concerto, qui a reçu une mention en 1988 au prix Ars Electronica. En 1989, son oeuvre Son Entero, pour quatre voix et ordinateur, est elle aussi récompensée au prix Ars Electronica et, en 1992, Chant d'ailleurs gagne le premier prix «Golden Nica» à la même compétition.

Sa musique est caractérisée par l'utilisation de structures rythmiques pulsées organisant la grande forme, et par une ligne mélodique conduite par le rythme plutôt que par l'harmonie - comme dans de nombreuses musiques de traditions noneuropéennes.

En plus de son oeuvre instrumentale et électroacoustique, il s'est aussi impliqué dans la création d'oeuvres multimédias et a écrit les partitions musicales de quelque vingt films. Il a été également producteur d'émissions radiophoniques à la BBC.

En 1994, Alejandro Viñao a été boursier de la fondation Guggenheim. Il travaille actuellement sur un opéra de chambre commandé par le Centre des arts et des mèdias en Allemagne, ainsi que sur une nouvelle pièce d'orchestre.


© Ircam-Centre Pompidou, 2007

  • None
  • Effectif non spécifié
    • élec Rashomon opéra de chambre pour sept chanteurs et ordinateur (1995), 40 mn, Inédit
  • Musique électronique / sur support / instruments mécaniques
  • Musique de chambre
    • élec Phrase & Fiction pour quatuor à cordes et ordinateur (1994), 20 mn, Inédit
    • élec Triple Concerto pour flûte, piano, violoncelle et ordinateur (1983-1984), 27 mn, Inédit
    • élec Tumblers pour violon, marimba et ordinateur (1989), 17 mn, Inédit
  • Musique instrumentale d'ensemble
  • Musique concertante
    • Marimba Concerto pour marimba solo et orchestre de chambre (1993), 20 mn, Inédit
  • Musique vocale a cappella